top of page

High School Academics


St Teresa’s prides itself on its service to learners by offering a holistic education. In line with this holistic education, St Teresa’s has built up a reputation of academic excellence.

The school curriculum follows the requirements of the South African curriculum statements. High School education is divided into two components: the GET (General Education and Training) which consists of Grades 7, 8 and 9 and the FET (Further Education and Training) which includes Grades 10, 11 and 12. The final exit qualification comes at the end of the Grade 12 year in the writing of a public examination, the National Senior Certificate, under the auspices of the Independent Examination Board (IEB).

Learners are taught in mixed ability classes. Learners are encouraged to develop a sound work ethic and small class sizes allow for individual attention. Academic support is available to learners in every subject. If any academic concerns are raised by a teacher, communication with a parent/s is done immediately.

Both formal and informal assessment methods are used to assess a learner’s progress. Major examinations are held in July and November for Grades 7-11. In accordance with IEB policy on inclusive education, internal concessions, such as extra time in exams are allocated where needed.

Our academic staff are highly qualified and continual professional development is emphasised. All teachers are  SACE registered. Performance evaluation is an ongoing process to ensure that the needs of the learners are being met by the staff.

GET- General Education and Training (Grade 7-9)

This curriculum covers grades 7, 8 and 9. At St Teresa’s, we have developed a modular system for our Grade 7, 8 and 9 pupils. The modular system is composed of the non-core subjects, with an aim to promote deeper and more thorough learning in these subjects. This is vital as it informs the decision-making process in choosing the three optional subjects required for Grade 10. As such the timetable is structured to provide more time for module subjects to allow for in-depth learning. The non-core subjects are divided into an Arts key, a Science Key and Humanities Key.  Every term, the learners will take one subject out of the three keys. This subject will then be written off at the end of the term. The system works very much like a university system, whereby modules are written off at the end of a term.

Core Subjects
  • English

  • First additional language – Afrikaans / IsiZulu

  • Mathematics

  • Life Orientation

Year Subjects
  • Computer Literacy

  • French (Grades 8 and 9)

  • Physical Education

  • Religious Education

Module Subjects
  • Physical Sciences

  • Life Science

  • History

  • Geography

  • Dramatic Art

  • Visual Art

  • Music

  • Economic and Management Sciences



At the end of Grade 9, after career guidance, a learner chooses her matriculation subjects and enters the FET Phase of the school.

FET – Further Education and Training
(Grade 10-12)

This curriculum covers grades 10, 11 and 12.

Learners must study 7 subjects, 4 of which are compulsory: English, Afrikaans or Isizulu, Mathematics or Mathematical Literacy and Life Orientation.

Thereafter 3 subjects are chosen, according to predefined keys.
The subjects offered in the FET phase is:

  • Accounting

  • Business Studies

  • Computer Applications Technology (CAT)

  • Dramatic Arts

  • French

  • Geography

  • History

  • Information Technology

  • Life Science

  • Physical Science

  • Visual Art


In addition, learners can take an 8th subject such as Advanced Programme Mathematics or Advanced Programme English which is offered during school time.

Final Certificate


The qualification that learners will receive on successful completion of Grade 12 is the National Senior Certificate.

bottom of page